United States House of Representatives

The United States House of Representatives is one of the two houses of the United States Congress (a bicameral legislature) alongside the Senate.

The composition and powers of the House are established in Article One of the United States Constitution. The major power of the House is to pass federal legislation that affects the entire country, although its bills must also be passed by the Senate and further agreed to by the U.S. President before becoming law (unless both the House and Senate re-pass the legislation with a two-thirds majority in each chamber). The House has some exclusive powers: the power to initiate revenue bills, to impeach officials (impeached officials are subsequently tried in the Senate), and to elect the U.S. President in case there is no majority in the Electoral College.

Each U.S. state is represented in the House in proportion to its population as measured in the census, but every state is entitled to at least one representative. The most populous state, California, currently has 53 representatives. On the other end of the spectrum, there are seven states with only one representative each (Alaska, Delaware, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Vermont, and Wyoming). The total number of voting representatives is fixed by law at 435. In addition there are six non-voting Representatives who have a voice on the floor and a vote in committees, but no vote on the floor.

The Speaker of the House, who presides over the chamber, is elected by the members of the House, and is therefore traditionally the leader of the House Democratic Caucus or the House Republican Conference, whichever party has more voting members. The House meets in the south wing of the United States Capitol.

All of Fayette County is represented in the 14th District of Pennsylvania!

Welcome to the 9th District!

Pennsylvania’s 14th congressional district is located in the southwestern part of the state and includes all of Fayette County, Greene County, and Washington County, as well as the western part of Westmoreland County. It is represented by Republican Guy Reschenthaler.

Prior to 2018, the 14th district included the entire city of Pittsburgh and parts of surrounding suburbs. The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania redrew the district in February 2018 after ruling the previous map unconstitutional. The 14th and 18th districts swapped names and had their boundaries adjusted for the 2018 elections and representation thereafter.[2]

Pennsylvania 14th District Offices

Washington, DC Office

531 Cannon House Office Building
WashingtonDC 20515

Phone: (202) 225-2065


Greensburg, PA District Office

700 Pellis Road
Suite 1
GreensburgPA 15601

Phone: (724) 219-4200


Washington, PA District Office

14 S. Main Street
WashingtonPA 15301

Phone: (724) 206-4800