Pennsylvania State Senate

The Pennsylvania State Senate has been meeting since 1791. It is the upper house of the Pennsylvania General Assembly, the Pennsylvania state legislature. The State Senate meets in the State Capitol building in Harrisburg. Senators are elected for four year terms, staggered every two years such that half of the seats are contested at each election. Even numbered seats and odd numbered seats are contested in separate election years. The President Pro Tempore of the Senate becomes the Lieutenant Governor of Pennsylvania in the event of the sitting Lieutenant Governor’s removal, resignation or death. In this case the President Pro Tempore and Lieutenant Governor would be the same person.[3]

The President of the Senate is the Lieutenant Governor, who has no vote except in the event of an otherwise tie vote.

Fayette county is represented by one state senator, who has District 32.

District 32

All of FAYETTE County; All of SOMERSET County and Part of WESTMORELAND County consisting of the CITY of Monessen and the TOWNSHIPS of East Huntingdon and Rostraver and the BOROUGHS of Mount Pleasant, North Belle Vernon and Scottdale.

District Offices


171 West Crawford Avenue
Suite 2
Connellsville, PA 15425
Ph: 724-626-1611
FAX: 724-626-1665

M – F from
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.


118 West Main Street
Suite 204
Somerset, PA 15501
Phone: 814-443-2053
Fax: 814-443-2057

M – F from
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Harrisburg Office

Senate Box  203032
183 Main Capitol
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Ph: 717-787-7175
TTY: 800-364-1581

M – F from
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.