Pennsylvania Elected Officials

Pennsylvania was one of the original thirteen colonies, and was admitted as a state on December 12, 1787. Prior to declaring its independence, Pennsylvania was a colony of the Kingdom of Great Britain.

Executive Branch


The Pennsylvania Treasury is an independent department of state government. It is led by the state treasurer, who is elected every four years. Treasurers are limited to two terms.


Auditor General:

The Pennsylvania Department of the Auditor General is the chief fiscal watchdog of the commonwealth. It is responsible for using audits to ensure that all state money is spent legally and properly.

The auditor general was created by an act of the General Assembly in 1809. The auditor general was appointed by the governor until 1850, when it became an elected office. The auditor general can serve a maximum of two, four-year terms.

Attorney General:

The Attorney General is Pennsylvania’s top law enforcement official, with a wide range of responsibility to protect and serve the citizens and agencies of the Commonwealth.

The Attorney General is served by a staff of several hundred prosecutors, attorneys, investigators, agents and support staff in offices across the state,divided into three sections: the Criminal Law Division, the Public Protection Division and the Civil Law Division.

Lieutenant Governor:

The lieutenant governor is a constitutional officer of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The lieutenant governor is elected for a four year term in the same year as the governor.


The Governor of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is the head of the executive branch of Pennsylvania’s state government and serves as the commander-in-chief of the state’s military forces.

Judicial Branch

Commonwealth Court

The Commonwealth Court was established in 1968 and is one of two statewide intermediate appellate courts.

Superior Court

The Superior Court was established in 1895 and is one of two statewide intermediate appellate courts.

Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania is the highest court in the Commonwealth and the oldest appellate court in the nation.